Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award 2017

Photo credit: Christa Holka.

“The best of the entries were incredibly impressive – so much more sophisticated and nuanced than the writing I did when I was a teenager. These young poets have something to say (always an advantage!) and know exactly how they want to say it. Enviable skills for any writer.” – Sinéad Morrissey, 2017 Judge

On 17 October 2017, the winners of this year’s Foyle Young Poets Award were announced at a glitzy ceremony at the Southbank Centre.

Judges Sinéad Morrissey and Kayo Chingonyi chose 15 winners and 85 commended poets from over 6,000 poets and over 11,000 poems. Writers from 89 different countries entered the competition, from as far afield as Azerbaijan, Myanmar, Syria and Zimbabwe.

The Foyle Young Poets 2017 anthology will see the top 15 poems in print, with the commended poems being published in an online anthology.

15 top poets 

Suzanne Antelme, Margot Armbruster, Aisha Mango Borja, Lyra Davies, Max Dixon, Ruby Evans, Irina Petra Husti-Radulet, Enshia Li, Cia Mangat, Marina McCready, Eira Murphy, Natalie Perman, Neave Scott, Ella Standage and Lucy Thynne.

You can read 2017’s top 15 via the right sidebar of this page.

85 commended poets

Tashawar Ahmer, India Alldred, Mathilda Armiger, Holly Atton, Bianka Barabas, Anna Beekmayer, Aliyah Begum, Bailey Blackburn, Daniel Blokh, Jenny Burville-Riley, Sophia Carney, Imogen Catsaras, Michelle Cedeno, Isla Chaplin, Dana Chiueh, Niamh Collins, Angelina Conte, Elizabeth Cook, Jasmine Cui, Benjamin de Almeida Newton, Cosima Deetman, Magnus Dixon, Ailsa Elisabeth Dixon, Linnet Drury, Jasmine Elise Chapman, Aidan Forster, Emily Franklin, Abigail Green, Yuri Han, Gaia Harper, Emma Hasson, Muireann Hayden, Hal Henderson, Leo Hessian, Anna Humphreys, Kara Jackson, Isabella Jiang, Emma Jones, Naya Jorgensen, Katherine Kim, Frankie Lee, Meredith LeMaître, Jocelyn Leuenberger, Vivian Liao, Mukahang Limbu, Udit Mahalingam, Madison Matthews, Amelie Maurice-Jones, Oisín McDonnell-Grundy, Richelle Mowatt, Amélie Nixon, Kia O’Driscoll, Natalia Orlovsky, Andrew Pettigrew, Rosie Plumb, Em Power, Ananya Prakash, Eliza Rai, Ella Roberts, Kitty Robinson, Poonam Sahoo, Eliza Sapara-Grant, Shivani Sekar, Maia Siegel, Jamie Smith, Elif Soyler, Kyle Spencer, Carolyn Stein,Sarah Juniper Storace Nelson, Melissa Stuart, Rachel Tait, Eloise Tara Unerman, Stephanie Themistocleous, James Turner, Jemima Webster, Mary Webster, Fox White, Jade Wilkinson, Rachel Wilkinson, Maria Woodford, Shaw Worth, Rosie Wright, Alannah Young, Seemin Zaki Mohammed, Joyce Zhou.