Ted Hughes Award

Crow © Estate of Leonard Baskin
Crow © Estate of Leonard Baskin

We’re delighted to announce that the 2015 Ted Hughes Award is now open for recommendations!

The three judges are award-winning poet Jackie Kay, Forward prize nominated Andrew McMillan and novelist Ali Smith – winner of this year’s Bailey’s Women’s prize for fiction.

The Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry seeks to recognise excellence in poetry, highlighting outstanding contributions made by poets to our cultural life. The £5,000 prize is donated by Carol Ann Duffy, funded from the annual honorarium the Poet Laureate traditionally receives from HM The Queen.

For more information about the award and how to make a recommendation see our FAQs

The winner of the 2014 Ted Hughes Award was Andrew Motion, for his radio performance Coming Home. Judges Grayson Perry, Kei Miller and Julia Copus chose the work for its “innovative and deeply moving” poetry. You can read more about the winner on our website.


Ted Hughes Award
The Poetry Society
22 Betterton Street
London WC2H 9BX
Email: Helen Taylor, [email protected]
Telephone: 020 7420 9880