Aileen La Tourette wins Live Canon

Aileen La Tourette with Lorraine Mariner
Aileen La Tourette (left) with Lorraine Mariner

Congratulations to Poetry Society Member Aileen La Tourette, this year’s winner of the Live Canon International Poetry Competition, as judged by Lorraine Mariner. Her winning poem is ‘The Diving Horse’.

Poetry Society Members on the shortlist included Antony Mair, Catherine Ayres, Elaine Beckett, Emma Simon, Geraldine Clarkson, John Wilks, Mark Fiddes, Samantha Wynne-Rhydderch, Sarah Doyle and Shauna Robertson.

Aileen has been presented with cheque for £1000. The Borough Prize was won by Ian Walker for the poem ‘Angela Lansbury’. 

Read more, where you can see the rest of the shortlist and order the anthology. 

22 November 2016