BBC Proms Poetry Competition winners

Anna Kisby
Anna Kisby

The winners of the BBC Proms Poetry Competition 2016, for poems written in response to a piece of music in the 2016 Proms season. Judged by poet and presenter of The Verb on BBC Radio 3, Ian McMillan, Scottish Makar Jackie Kay and the Director of The Poetry Society Judith Palmer, the winners were announced at an event which was broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on 8 September 2016. You can listen to the programme on the BBC iPlayer (until 8 October).

Congratulations to Poetry Society member, Members’ Poems winner and Stanza Poetry Competition 2015 commended poet Anna Kisby, who won the adult category with her poem ‘Fireflies Unlimited‘. And to YPN Challenge winner and Timothy Corsellis Prize commended poet Lucy Thynne, who won the junior category with her poem ‘Juliet on water‘.

Congratulations too, to commended poets and members Graham Burchell (winner of last year’s Stanza Competition) in the adult category and Katherine Spencer-Davies in the junior category; and to the other commended poets John Scrivens (adult category) and Jason Khan (junior category). All of the winning poems are available to read online.

The BBC Proms Poetry Competition is supported each year by The Poetry Society.


Published 9 September 2016