Joanne Key and Sarah Leavesley on Hippocrates shortlist

With an awards fund of £5500 the Hippocrates Prize for Poetry and Medicine is one of the highest value poetry awards in the world for a single unpublished poem. Entries for the 2018 Hippocrates prize were received from 37 countries and from 5 continents. The judges – Carol Rumens, Peter Goldsworthy, and Mark Doty, have agreed shortlisted poets for the Health Professional Prize and Open Prize.  

Competing for the Open Prize are Poetry Society Members Joanne Key (who won second prize in The Poetry Society’s National Poetry Competition 2014) and Sarah Leavesley (who is The Poetry Society’s Stanza rep in Worcestershire), with former Foyle Young Poet Maria Ji in the running for the Health Professional Prize.

Poetry Society Members on the longlists include Peter Daniels, Christy Ducker, Alice Hiller, Sarah Leavesley (again), Bogusia Wardein, Elizabeth Birchall, Richard Carpenter, Iora Dawes, Joyce Schmid (for two poems), and Penny Shutt (for two poems). On the Young Poets Prize Shortlist is former Foyle Young Poet Miles McInerney.

Commendations were also agreed for entrants from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, England, Northern Ireland, Norway, Sweden and the USA – 19 in the Open category and 20 in the Health Professional Category.

The winners will be announced at the 2018 Hippocrates Awards ceremony at the Poetry Foundation in Chicago from 4pm on Friday 11 May. Since it was launched in 2010, the Hippocrates Prize has attracted over 8000 entries from over 60 countries, from the Americas to Fiji and from Finland to Australasia.

Read more

10 April 2018