Jane McKie and Bill Greenwell win Magma Poetry Prize

Jane Draycott announces the winners

Jane McKie and Bill Greenwell are winners of the Judge’s Prize and Editors’ Prize in the annual Magma Poetry Competition, with a number of Poetry Society Members on the lists, including Anne Berkeley – third in the Judge’s Prize, and Geraldine Clarkson, second in the Editors’ Prize. There were commendations, too, for Poetry Society Members Sarah Davies, Rachel Piercey, Stephen Boyce, Jane McCarthy, Maeve Henry, and Elisabeth Sennit Clough.

The prize-giving event took place at Keats House last Friday where the winners and commended poets read their poems and received their cheques. The audience was also treated to judge Jane Draycott reading from her latest collection.

Judge’s Prize Winners (judged by Jane Draycott)

1st: Port Glow by Jane Mckie
2nd:  7/7 by Hannah Lowe
3rd: Extracts from the Holocene by Anne Berkeley


Caught by Sarah Davies
Lost key/ other side by Rachel Piercey
Queers in Russia by David Mattar
The lightning tree by Simon Murphy
Damascus public library by James Richards
The Beekeper’s Wife by Stephen Boyce

Editors’ Prize Winners (judged by a panel of Magma editors)

1st: Whelm by Bill Greenwell
2nd: proggle by Geraldine Clarkson
3rd: that summer by Karen Wheatcroft


The Hospital Porter at 2 am by Neil Ferguson
Death of a fisherman, Alicante by Abigail Ardelle
Address by Jane McCarthy
Check Point by Maeve Henry
OED Confessional Notes by Elisabeth Sennit Clough

Read more

17 March 2017