Kim Moore wins Geoffrey Faber Prize

Kim Moore
Kim Moore

Poetry Society Member Kim Moore has won the Geoffrey Faber memorial prize for her debut poetry collection The Art of Falling.

The judges, poets Gillian Clarke and Katharine Towers, and the New Statesman’s Tom Gatti, said that Moore’s poems “accrue force and vigour as they speak to each other across the pages, delivering a thrilling encounter with language at its most irresistible and essential”.

The Geoffrey Faber prize, which is worth £1,500, is given in alternate years to a volume of verse and a volume of prose fiction “of the greatest literary merit”. It has been won in the past by Seamus Heaney, Tony Harrison, and JM Coetzee.

Kim Moore was born in 1981 and lives and works in Cumbria. She won a New Writing North Award in 2014, an Eric Gregory Award in 2011 and the Geoffrey Dearmer Prize in 2012. Her first pamphlet If We Could Speak Like Wolves was a winner in The Poetry Business Pamphlet Competition. It was also chosen as an Independent Book of the Year in 2012 and was shortlisted for the Michael Marks Pamphlet Award and the Lakeland Book of the Year Award. She was a winner in the Northern Writers Awards 2014. Kim’s poem ‘In That Year’ was chosen as a Members’ Poem on the theme of ‘loss’ in the summer 2014 issue of Poetry News, and was subsequently shortlisted for Best Single Poem in the Forward Prize.

Read more

1 December 2017