Mark Wagenaar wins Gregory O’Donoghue International Poetry Prize

Mark Wagenaar
Mark Wagenaar

After receiving over 2,200 entries the prizewinners and shortlist for the Gregory O’Donoghue International Poetry Prize 2017 have been announced, judged by Mary Noonan, who read each and every entry. Among the shortlisted poets are Poetry Society Members Owen Lewis, Christopher North, Jonathan Edwards, and Cahal Dallat.

First Prize
‘Late Song’ by Mark Wagenaar

Second Prize
‘Tara’s Thong’ by Alan Garvey

Third Prize
‘I Have Never Slept with an Animal’ by Suzanne Cleary

‘Ordering Quail as a Friend Lay Dying’ by Karla K. Martin
‘How I Started to Use a Cane’ by Owen Lewis
‘Portrait of a Laryngologist’ by Mark Wagenaar
‘Hope Cove’ by Polly Atkin
‘An Fear Mór’ by Anne Marie Connolly
‘The Linguists’ by Christopher North
‘When Almonds Appear in Dreams’by Joanne Dominque Dwyer
‘Prince Charming After Bankruptcy and Divorce’ by Jeff Walt
‘My Father Crashes a Car, 1965’ by Jonathan Edwards
‘Of Floods. Of How’ by Beth Somerford
‘Next Stop, Ealing Broadway’ by Gráinne Daly
‘Dream of a Death Before a Burial’ by Auesta Safi
‘Hunt’ by Katrina Turner
‘Miss Fogarty’ by CL Dallat
‘Improvisation in a New Year’ by Gary Keenan

1st Prize €1000, a week’s residency at the Tyrone Guthrie Centre, publication in Southword
and a trip to Cork, Ireland. 2nd Prize €500 & publication in Southword, 3rd Prize €250 & publication in Southword. Ten runners-up are published in Southword and receive €30 publication fee.

The Munster Literature Centre holds an annual competition for an international poetry prize for a single poem, named in honour of a late Irish poet long associated with the Centre.

The Munster Literature Centre is a not-for-profit organisation; all moneys raised from the competition benefits writers and writing.

Read more

8 February 2017