Patrick Errington wins Wigtown Poetry Competition

The Wigtown Poetry Competition have announced their winners. The main prize was won by National Poetry Competition 2016 commended poet Patrick James Errington, and Poetry Society Members Pat Borthwick and Sarah Leavesley were both Highly Commended. Pat has recently been shortlisted in the Wells Poetry Competition and Highly Commended in the 2017 Wales Poetry Competition. Sarah was shortlisted for the 2017 Paper Swans poetry pamphlet prize. Both are Poetry Society Stanza reps.

In the Scots Prize, Poetry Society Member Aileen Ballantyne was Highly Commended.

Main Prize Winner: Patrick Errington
Main Prize Runner Up: Liz Lefroy
Main Prize Highly Commended: Pat Borthwick
Main Prize Highly Commended: Lewis Camley
Main Prize Highly Commended: Sarah Leavesley
Main Prize Highly Commended: Patrick Errington

Scottish Gaelic Prize Winner: Marcas Mac Tuairneir
Scottish Gaelic Prize Highly Commended: Eoghan Stewart
Scottish Gaelic Prize Highly Commended: Nathaniel Harrington

Scots Prize Winner: Jim Waite
Scots Prize Highly Commended: Aileen Ballantyne
Scots Prize Highly Commended: Bill Boyd

The Wigtown Prize is Scotland’s International Poetry Prize, Open to All. In association with Saltire Society, Scottish Poetry Library and The Gaelic Books Council.

You can read the winning poems here!

Read more

20 October 2017