Poetry Society Members on the Hippocrates shortlists

Once again, Poetry Society Members feature strongly in this year’s Hippocrates Prize for Poetry and Medicine. 

Iora Dawes from Stafford is shortlisted in the Health Profession category, while Mo Abu-Bakra (Ascot), Helen Gibson (Helensburgh), Maeve Henry (Oxford), Valerie Laws (Whitley Bay), Cheryl Moskowitz (London), and Karen Schofield (Newcastle-under-Lyme) were Commended.

In the Open Category award, Claire Collison (London) and Rosie Jackson (Somerset) are competing for the main prize, while Janice Booth (Swindon), Hannah Copley (Hertford) – for two poems, Nicola Healey (Bucks), Ilse Pedler (Saffron Walden), Lesley Saunders (Slough) – for two poems, and Joyce Schmid (California) were Commended.

The Hippocrates Prize has been awarded since 2010. The 2017 judges are: Neal Baer, Harvard-trained American paediatrician and producer of ER; Pulitzer-Prize winning poet Jorie Graham; Jackie Kay, Scottish Makar (National Poet Laureate; and Professor Owen Lewis, New York, USA. Awards will be announced at the Awards Ceremony at Harvard Medical School on Saturday 6 May 2017.

Read more

11 April 2017