Poetry Society Members feature strongly in Saboteur Awards

Saboteur Awards

Poetry Society Members feature strongly in this year’s Saboteur Awards shortlists. Voting on the shortlists closes on 9 May.

The Best Reviewer of Literature shortlist includes Dave Coates and former Foyle Young Poet Jade Cuttle. Martin Figura is shortlisted for his Spoken Word show ‘Dr Zeeman’s Catastrophe Machine’. In the Best Collaborative Work shortlist, Dan Simpson features alongside Dr Sam Illingworth for Experimental Words, and Ruth Stacey appears with Katy Wareham Morris for Inheritance. Jacqueline Saphra‘s A Bargain with the Light: Poems after Lee Miller (Hercules Editions), Romalyn Ante‘s Rice & Rain (V. Press), and Claire Walker‘s Somewhere Between Rose and Black (V. Press) are among the hopefuls in the Best Poetry Pamphlet category. And finally, Kirsten Irving (who runs Sidekick Books with Jon Stone) and Ronnie Goodyer (co-founder of Indigo Dreams with Dawn Bauling) will be keeping their fingers crossed for success in the Most Innovative Publisher shortlist.

Society Members on the Longlists include Maria Isakova Bennett, Mick Yates, Paul Stephenson, and Chrys Salt (all for Best Poetry Pamphlet), Matt Abbott (Best Spoken Word), Colin Dardis, Greg Freeman, Emma Lee, Sam Smith and Angela Topping (Best Reviewer of Literature), and Linda Anderson, with Dawn Miranda Sherratt-Bado) on the Best Anthology longlist.

The Saboteur Awards have run for eight years in various guises each time on the birthday of Sabotage Reviews, founded in 2010 by Claire Trévien to “provide dynamic commentary and reviews of small-scale and ephemeral literature that might not otherwise receive such critical and public attention. The focus is on independent, small-budget literature; poetry pamphlets, short stories and live performance (particularly open mic events and spoken word shows).”

Good luck to everyone!

Read more, including the full shortlists

9 April 2018