T. S. Eliot Prize shortlist announced

Judges Ruth Padel (Chair), Julia Copus and Alan Gillis have chosen the shortlist for this year’s T. S. Eliot Prize from 138 books submitted by publishers. Huge congratulations to all the shortlisted poets and publishers:

  • Rachael Boast Void Studies / Picador
  • Vahni Capildeo Measures of Expatriation / Carcanet
  • Ian Duhig The Blind Road-Maker / Picador
  • J O Morgan Interference Pattern / Cape Poetry
  • Bernard O’Donoghue The Seasons of Cullen Church / Faber
  • Alice Oswald Falling Awake / Cape Poetry
  • Jacob Polley Jackself / Picador
  • Denise Riley Say Something Back / Picador
  • Ruby Robinson Every Little Sound / Liverpool University Press
  • Katharine Towers The Remedies / Picador

The winner will be announced on 16 January 2017, and there will be a celebratory shortlist reading at the Southbank Centre on 15 January. Tickets will be available from the Southbank Centre. Find out more about the shortlist and the prize on the T. S. Eliot Foundation website.

You can catch Ian Duhig reading at an event at Poetry in Aldeburgh in November, alongside Geraldine Clarkson and Eric Berlin. And Bernard O’Donoghue will be judging the 2016 Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry.

Last year’s winner of the T. S. Eliot Prize was Sarah Howe for her collection Loop of Jade (Random House). Sarah is currently guest co-editing the winter issue of The Poetry Review with Maurice Riordan and will be reading at the autumn launch event on 21 October at Fitzrovia Chapel.

20 October 2016