Wells Festival of Literature poetry shortlist announced

Wells Festival Poetry Comp

The shortlist for the Wells Festival poetry competition has been announced, and features Poetry Society Members Pat Borthwick, Carole Bromley, Rachael Clyne, Kerry Darbishire (for two poems), Christopher James, Kathy Miles, Judy O’Kane, Helen Overell, and Sue Spiers.

This year, to celebrate the Wells Festival Silver Anniversary, the prize money has been raised to 1st: £750, 2nd: £300 and 3rd: £200 in all three categories (poetry, short story, children’s book). They are continuing to offer the Hilly Cansdale local poetry prize of £100 and the Wyvern local short story prize, also £100. In addition there will be a £100 local prize in the Book for Children category.

Final judging of all three competitions will take place at 4.30 pm on Sunday 15 October in the Bishop’s Palace Conference Room. This will be preceded by the reading of shortlisted poems at 3pm.

Read more

25 September 2017