Peggy Poole Award

The Peggy Poole Award logoThe Peggy Poole Award helps emerging writers develop their craft, and gives poets in the North West of England the chance to win a year of mentoring from a leading poet, running alongside the National Poetry Competition, The award is in memory of the poet and broadcaster Peggy Poole and made possible thanks to the generosity of her extended family and many friends.

Peggy Poole

Peggy Poole was a passionate advocate for the ongoing vitality of poetry in the North West, and championed new and emerging poets in the region. Peggy’s work for Radio Merseyside’s First Heard programme provided a platform for new voices, as did the events which she co-ran for Jabberwocky, which also attracted established poets such as Ted Hughes, Stephen Spender and Ursula Fanthorpe. She was a consultant for BBC North West, and an honorary member of Liverpool’s Dead Good Poets’ Society and Ver Poets.

Her collections include Never a Put-up Job (1970), Cherry Stones: And Other Poems (1983), Hesitations (1990), Trusting the Rainbow (1994), From the Tide’s Edge (1999), and more. Her Selected Poems was published in 2003. She edited Poet’s England 17: Cumbria (1995), her anthology of railway poems Marigolds Grow Wild on Platforms (1996), and Perceptions (2000), a collection of poems by women.

“What do I look for? I keep an open mind, but look for: that touch of originality, that right combination of words, that vivid image, that musicality of sounds, that instant ‘YES’, that delight in a real poem, that joy in a fine piece of work. And I don’t mind where it comes from or from whom, and I don’t mind if it’s simple or complex – if it’s a true poem I’ll recognise it.” Peggy Poole


Malika Booker - credit Naomi Woddis
Malika Booke. Photo: Naomi Woddis.

The mentor-judge for 2019 is Malika BookerMalika will select a winner of the Peggy Poole Award based on poems submitted to the National Poetry Competition by poets currently living in the North West of England.

Malika Booker is a writer, spoken word and multidisciplinary artist, whose work spans literature, education and cross-arts.  Organisations she has worked with include Arts Council England, BBC, British Council, Wellcome Trust, National Theatre, Arvon, and Hampton Court Palace.  She co-founded and ran Malika’s Kitchen, a writers’ collective based in London and Chicago.  Her latest poetry collection is Pepper Seed, published by Peepal Tree Press in 2013. She was the inaugural poet-in-residence at the Royal Shakespeare Company.  In 2017 her poem ‘Nine Nights’, originally published in The Poetry Review, was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem.  Malika is a Lecturer in Creative Writing at Manchester Metropolitan University.

Previous Winners

The winner of the 2017 Peggy Poole Award was Yvonne Reddick, who was mentored by Deryn Rees-Jones.  Last year’s winner was Mark Pajak, who is now being mentored by Michael Symmons Roberts.  The mentorship will culminate in a celebratory reading in the North West in Spring 2020.


To be eligible for the Peggy Poole Award, you just need to enter the National Poetry Competition and be living in one of the following postcode regions: BB, BD, BL, CA, CH, CW, FY, IM, L, LA, M, OL, PR, SK, WN and WA. When you make your entry, you’ll be able to opt in to being considered for the award.

The National Poetry Competition is open for entries in 2019 and the closing date is 31st October. You can enter online at: