Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Freedom Across the Globe: Youth Poetry Showcase

Saturday 22 May 2021, 5:00 pm6:00 pm

The Poetry Society (UK) and Urban Word NYC (USA) present Freedom Across the Globe – an exciting new programme bringing together young poets from around the world, transcending borders and showcasing young voices on a global stage. Book your ticket to the showcase here.

On Saturday 22 May, 10 young poets from around the world will speak about freedom in their country. We’ll also premiere global group poems created through workshops with Yomi Ṣode and Roya Marsh. If you’re aged 14-25 and you’d like to take part in one of these workshops, sign up for a spot here.

This event will start at 9am PST / 12pm EST / 5pm BST / 9.30pm IST and run for about an hour.

If you’re aged 14-25 and you’d like to submit a video for this event, do so here by 16 May 2021.

From the submissions we receive, we’ll select 10 young writers from around the world to platform their perspectives on freedom. Two young poets will be hosting this event – stay tuned for more!

We are working towards a programme that is more inclusive to non-native English speakers. Get in touch if there is anything we can do to enable your participation in this programme at [email protected].

THe Poetry SocietyNational Youth Poet Laureate logoChampioned by Urban Word NYC

Event website:

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/freedom-across-the-globe-poetry-showcase-tickets-148864322195