Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Poetry Review Winter issue launch

Thursday 30 January 2020, 7:00 pm9:30 pm

Left to right: Victoria Kennefick (photo: Pauline Dennigan), Don Paterson (photo: Murdo Macleod), Amy Acre

The Poetry Society celebrates the publication of the Winter 2019 issue of The Poetry Review with an exciting line-up of readers featuring Don Paterson, Victoria Kennefick and Amy Acre, who will be introduced by the Guest Editor of the issue, Colette Bryce. Doors open at 7pm, readings begin at 7.30pm. 

The event is FREE but advance booking is essential to reserve your place. Please note there’s now a waiting list for tickets – please email [email protected] and we’ll let you know as soon as more tickets are made available.

About our poets

Amy Acre is the editor of Bad Betty Press and the author of two pamphlets, And They Are Covered in Gold Light (Bad Betty) and Where We’re Going, We Don’t Need Roads (flipped eye). Both were selected as a Poetry Book Society Pamphlet Choice. Her poem, ‘every girl knows’, won the 2019 Verve Poetry Prize.

Colette Bryce is the Guest Editor of the Winter 2019 of The Poetry Review. Born in Derry, Northern Ireland, Colette has published four poetry collections including The Full Indian Rope Trick (Picador, 2004) and Self-Portrait in the Dark (2008). Her latest, The Whole & Rain-domed Universe (2014), was awarded a Ewart-Biggs Award in memory of Seamus Heaney. Selected Poems, drawing on all her books, is a PBS Special Commendation and winner of the Pigott Prize for Poetry 2018. Colette received the Cholmondeley Award for poetry in 2010.

Victoria Kennefick won the Munster Literature Centre Fool for Poetry Chapbook Competition and the Saboteur Award for Best Poetry Pamphlet for White Whale (Southword Editions, 2015).

Don Paterson was born in 1963 in Dundee, Scotland. He is Professor of Poetry at the University of St Andrews, and since 1996 has been poetry editor at Picador MacMillan. He has twice won both the Whitbread/Costa Poetry Prize (2003, 2015) and the T.S. Eliot Prize (1997, 2003). He received the OBE in 2008 and the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry in 2010. His new collection Zonal will be published by Faber in the spring.