Anthony Watts wins the Bedford International Prize for poetry

Anthony Watts

Congratulations to Poetry Society Member Anthony Watts, winner of the Bedford International Prize for poetry for The Land of Epilogue. Nick Everett, the judge, also announced the Bedford Prize for poetry winner as Sophie Rainbow for Coda.

Poetry Society Members on the shortlist include Estelle Price, Molly Underwood, Sharon Black, Caroline Maldonado, Georgina Titmus and Lucy Crispin. In addition, fellow Members Neil Elder, Angela Croft, Lizzie Holden, Ben Ray, Mark Totterdell and Eleni Cay made it to the Longlist. 

Anthony has been writing ‘seriously’ for about 40 years. He has had poems published in magazines and anthologies in addition to four published collections: Strange Gold (KQBX Press, 1991), The Talking Horses of Dreams (Iron Press, 1999), Steart Point & other poems (John Garland, 2009) and The Shell Gatherer (Oversteps, 2011). He has won the Lake Aske Memorial Award 1978, the Michael Johnson Memorial Prize 1979, the S.T. Coleridge Memorial Poetry Prize 2008 and first prizes in competitions run by Rotherham Metro Writers (2001), Preston Writers Guild (2001 & 2002), Christchurch Writers (1993, 2002, 2004, 2006, and 2007), Norwich Writers (2008), East Coker Poetry Group (2008) and Dillington Poets (1994), Mungrisedale Writers (2013), Poetry Space (2013) and Somerset Libraries (2013). He was also a runner up in the 1982 Arvon Foundation Competition. His poems have been broadcast on BBC Radio 4 and Somerset Sound.

In addition to the announcement of results, donations stemming from the competition entry fees were made to the charities, SMART and the organisation helping to improve childhood literacy, Schoolreaders.

Nick Everett is founder and co-editor of New Walk Editions poetry pamphlets. He teaches poetry writing and contemporary poetry at the University of Leicester.

Read more

10 March 2020