Brittle Star winners announced

Maria Castro Dominguez
Maria Castro Dominguez

Poetry Society Member Maria Castro Dominguez is among the winning poets of this year’s Brittle Star Poetry Competition, judged by Pascale Petit and Jacqueline Gabbitas, with fellow Members S M H (Sue) Davies and N J Hynes picking up Commendations. Congratulations to them all and the other poets on the list.

First Prize: Cathy Grindrod – ‘Surrender’
Second prize: Leonardo Boix – ‘Detail’
Third Prize: María Castro Domínguez – ‘When Stealing Water from the Sky Becomes Magic’

Highly Commended

Leonardo Boix – ‘Tree-Man’
Louise Warren – ‘He Come Up for the Day’


S M H Davies – ‘Icebreaker’
Stuart Charlesworth – ‘Phoenix and Vulture’
N J Hynes – ‘Wave or Particle’

Read more

29 June 2018