Penny Boxall second in Charles Causley Poetry Competition

Penny Boxall

Poetry Society Member Penny Boxall has been chosen by Michael Rosen for the second prize in the 2019 Charles Causley International Poetry Competition (won by Luke Allan) for her poem ‘The Stays’.

Penny won The Poetry Society’s Stanza Competition last year and her debut poetry collection, Ship of the Line, won the 2016 Edwin Morgan Poetry Award for Scottish poets under 30 and a Writer’s Residency at Gladstone’s Library. She is a 2019 Northern Writers’ Awards winner. She won the 2018 Mslexia/PBS Poetry Competition, judged by Carol Ann Duffy. Her second collection, Who Goes There?, was published by Valley Press in 2018. 

Fellow Poetry Society Members Gary Bills, Polly Atkin, Mark Fiddes and Sarah Acton were Highly Commended by Michael and Martin Rieser and Molly Underwood were on the shortlist.

The Charles Causley Trust exists to keep alive the memory of the late Charles Causley and to promote writing in the community and region in which he lived. A central focus of the work of The Charles Causley Trust is the continued development of Charles Causley’s House in Launceston, Cornwall, and its preservation and interpretation for future generations.

Read more

7 May 2020