Congratulations to all on the T.S. Eliot Prize 2021 shortlist

Huge congratulations to all on the 2021 T.S. Eliot Prize shortlist. Judges Glyn Maxwell (Chair), Caroline Bird and Zaffar Kunial have chosen the shortlist from a record 177 poetry collections submitted by British and Irish publishers.

The shortlisted poets are:

Raymond Antrobus, All the Names Given (Picador)
Kayo Chingonyi, A Blood Condition (Chatto & Windus)
Selima Hill, Men Who Feed Pigeons (Bloodaxe)
Victoria Kennefick, Eat Or We Both Starve (Carcanet)
Hannah Lowe, The Kids (Bloodaxe)
Michael Symmons Roberts, Ransom (Cape Poetry)
Daniel Sluman, single window (Nine Arches Press)
Joelle Taylor, C+nto & Othered Poems (The Westbourne Press)
Jack Underwood, A Year in the New Life (Faber)
Kevin Young, Stones (Cape Poetry)

The Poetry Society is delighted to see so many writers recognised with whom it has engaged through past projects, membership or in the pages of The Poetry Review. Raymond Antrobus was the winner of the Geoffrey Deamer Prize 2017, and the Ted Hughes Prize 2018, and also was a judge of the Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award in 2019. Kayo Chingonyi won the Geoffrey Dearmer Prize in 2012, judged the Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award in 2017, and was commissioned as part of the Thinking Outside the Penalty Box project, in a partnership with The Poetry Society’s Young Poets NetworkHannah Lowe, Jack Underwood and Selima Hill have been judges for the National Poetry Competition in 2017, 2016 and 2002 respectively. Michael Symmons Roberts was judge for the Peggy Poole Award 2018. Joelle Taylor formerly worked for The Poetry Society as the founder and artistic director for national youth slam championships SLAMbassadors. Nearly all on the list have featured in The Poetry Review as poets and critics.

The T.S. Eliot Prize, for the best new poetry collection written in English and published in 2021 in the UK or Ireland, is run by The T.S. Eliot Foundation. It is the most valuable prize in British poetry – the winning poet will receive a cheque for £25,000 and the shortlisted poets will be presented with cheques for £1,500. For more on the shortlisted poets, including videos, readers’ notes and reviews, visit the T.S. Eliot Prize website.

The T. S. Eliot Prize Shortlist Readings will take place on Sunday 9th January 2022 in the Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall, hosted once again by Ian McMillan. Tickets for the readings in-person in the Royal Festival or livestreamed online  are available from

14 October 2021