Congratulations to all on the T.S. Eliot Prize shortlist

Huge congratulations to all on the 2020 T.S. Eliot Prize shortlist, judged by Lavinia Greenlaw (Chair), Mona Arshi and Andrew McMillan.

The shortlisted poets are:
Natalie Diaz – Postcolonial Love Poem (Faber)
Sasha Dugdale – Deformations (Carcanet)
Ella Frears – Shine Darling (Offord Road Books)
Will Harris – RENDANG (Granta)
Wayne Holloway-Smith – Love Minus Love (Bloodaxe)
Bhanu Kapil How to Wash a Heart (Pavilion)
Daisy Lafarge Life Without Air (Granta)
Glyn Maxwell – How the hell are you (Picador)
Shane McCrae – Sometimes I Never Suffered (Corsair)
J.O. Morgan – The Martian’s Regress (Cape)

The Poetry Society is delighted to see so many writers recognised with whom it has engaged through past projects, membership or in the pages of The Poetry Review.  Wayne Holloway-Smith was the winner of the 2018 National Poetry Competition and Ella Frears was commended the same year; Ella has penned a writing guide to inspire entrants to this year’s competition. She is also a Poetry Society Member. Glyn Maxwell was a judge for the 2014 National Poetry Competition. Will Harris is a former guest editor of The Poetry Review and several of the poems in RENDANG first appeared in The Poetry Review. Nearly all on the list have featured in The Poetry Review as poets and critics; Bhanu Kapil contributed to the ‘Omphalos’ feature, in which writers describe a place central to their imaginative world.

The T.S. Eliot Prize, for the best new poetry collection written in English and published in 2020 in the UK or Ireland, is run by The T.S. Eliot Foundation. It is the most valuable prize in British poetry – the winning poet will receive a cheque for £25,000 and the shortlisted poets will be presented with cheques for £1,500. Look out for the announcement of the T. S. Eliot Prize Shortlist Readings and the award ceremony. For more on the shortlisted poets, including videos, readers’ notes and reviews, visit the T.S. Eliot Prize website.

15 October 2020