Congratulations to the Forward Prize winners

Congratulations to the winners of the Forward Prizes for Poetry 2017, awarded at a packed Royal Festival Hall, London, on 21 September 2017.

Forward Prize winners Ian Patterson, Sinéad Morrissey and Ocean Vuong.

Sinéad Morrissey won the £10,000 Forward Prize for Best Collection for On Balance (Carcanet); Sinéad is a judge with Kayo Chingonyi of this year’s Foyle Young Poets of the Year Awards.

The £5,000 Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection was won by Ocean Vuong for Night Sky with Exit Wounds (Cape Poetry). Ian Patterson won the Forward Best Single Poem Prize and £1,000 for ‘The Plenty of Nothing’ (first published in PN Review).

The judges were Ian Duhig, Sandeep Parmar, Mona Arshi, Chris Riddell and (chair) Andrew Marr.

Among the highly commended poets included in The Forward Book of Poetry 2018 are Poetry Society Members Nuar Alsadir, Simon Armitage, Malika Booker, Alan Buckley, Mary Jean Chan, Becky Cherriman, Maya Chowdhry, Elisabeth Sennitt Clough, Rishi Dastidar, Steve Ely, Richard Georges, Philip Gross, Nick Makoha, Jess Mookherjee, Paul Muldoon, Daljit Nagra, Pascale Petit, Michael Symmons Roberts, George Szirtes, Chrissy Williams, and Karen McCarthy Woolf.

Forward Book of Poetry 2018

22 September 2017