Heather Moulson wins Brian Dempsey Memorial Competition

Heather Moulson

Poetry Society Member Heather Moulson has won the Brian Dempsey Memorial Competition for her poem ‘Oh Sarah!’, judged by Paul McGrane. Success too for fellow Poetry Society Members Callum James and Janet Dean who were second and third for their poems ‘Winding up the Clocks’ and ‘However Feminist’.

Poetry Society Members Darren Beaney, Eve Jackson and Helen Pizzey were Highly Commended by Paul, alongside Fiona Sinclair. 

The shortlist included Society Members Ranald Barnicott, Trisha Broomfield, A C Clarke, Marilyn Daish, Tony Earnshaw, David Duncombe, Sharron Green, Jenna Plewes, Anthony Pinching, Mark Totterdell, Sue Wallace-Shaddad, Damon Young, Lizzie Holden, Martin Jones, Terry Jones, Tim Kiely, Phillip Lawder, David Punter, Shirley Redpath, Gregory Smith, Belinda Singleton, Angus Strachan, Peter Taylor, Georgina Titmus, and Karen Tobias-Green. 

Laura Theis won the Pamphlet Prize. 

All the prize-winning, commended and shortlisted poems are published in What the Moon was Told, the competition anthology, RRP £10.00.

Read more

1 May 2020