Janet Murray wins €1,000 Fish Publishing Poetry Prize

This year’s judge for the Fish Publishing prize, Ellen Bass, has selected ten poems to be published in the 2018 Fish Anthology.

The winner of the €1,000 first prize is ‘Vernacular Green’ by Janet Murray and there are ten Honorary Mentions including Poetry Society Members Gabriella Attems and Caroline Bracken who will both feature in the anthology, which will be launched as part of the West Cork Literary Festival in July. There were 59 poems on the short-list, including poems from Society Members Eric Berlin, Peter Jarvis, and Joan Michelson

The Fish Poetry Prize was established in 2006. Previous judges include Billy Collins, Brian Turner, Leanne O’Sullivan, Michael McCarthy, Peter Fallon, Matthew Sweeney, Paul Durcan, Ruth Padel, Nick Laird and Jo Shapcott. Ellen has had several books of her poems published and has won many awards for her poetry. She is a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets. 

Read more

16 May 2018