Foyle Young Poets of the Year 2017 winners announced

The Poetry Society have announced the top 15 winners and 85 commended poets of the Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award 2017 at a prize-giving ceremony at the Royal Festival Hall as part of the London Literature Festival.

At a ceremony at the Southbank Centre, the winners were announced by judges Kayo Chingonyi and Sinéad Morrissey. VIP guests, press, parents and established poets attended the ceremony where the top 15 poets read out their winning poems to an excited room.  The forthcoming Foyle Young Poets 2017 anthology will see the winning poets in print, and the 85 commended poems are being published in an online anthology.

Kayo Chingonyi said: “I was particularly struck by the number of poems that reflected on the complexities of living at this particular moment in time rather than taking their cue from poems and contexts of the past.

Sinéad Morrissey said: “The best of the entries were incredibly impressive. There was great maturity of approach here and confidence of address, particularly in dealing with difficult subjects. I was surprised too, by the assurance of tone – these young poets have something to say and know exactly how they wanted to say it. Enviable skills for any writer.

Read poems by the winning poets here

15 top poets

Aisha Mango Borja, Eira Murphy, Irina Petra Husti-Radulet, Lucy Thynne, Cia Mangat, Lyra Davies, Marina McCready, Max Dixon, Natalie Perman, Neave Scott, Enshia Li, Ella Standage, Margot Armbruster, Suzanne Antelme, Ruby Evans.

85 commended poets

Tashawar Ahmer, India Alldred, Mathilda Armiger, Holly Atton, Bianka Barabas, Anna Beekmayer, Aliyah Begum, Bailey Blackburn, Daniel Blokh, Jenny Burville-Riley, Sophia Carney, Imogen Catsaras, Michelle Cedeno, Isla Chaplin, Dana Chiueh, Niamh Collins, Angelina Conte, Elizabeth Cook, Jasmine Cui, Benjamin de Almeida Newton, Cosima Deetman, Magnus Dixon, Ailsa Elisabeth Dixon, Linnet Drury, Jasmine Elise Chapman, Aidan Forster, Emily Franklin, Abigail Green, Yuri Han, Gaia Harper, Emma Hasson, Muireann Hayden, Hal Henderson, Leo Hessian, Anna Humphreys, Kara Jackson, Isabella Jiang, Emma Jones, Naya Jorgensen, Katherine Kim, Frankie Lee, Meredith LeMaître, Jocelyn Leuenberger, Vivian Liao, Mukahang Limbu, Udit Mahalingam, Madison Matthews, Amelie Maurice-Jones, Oisín McDonnell-Grundy, Richelle Mowatt, Amélie Nixon, Kia O’Driscoll, Natalia Orlovsky, Andrew Pettigrew, Rosie Plumb, Em Power, Ananya Prakash, Eliza Rai, Ella Roberts, Kitty Robinson, Poonam Sahoo, Eliza Sapara-Grant, Shivani Sekar, Maia Siegel, Jamie Smith, Elif Soyler, Kyle Spencer, Carolyn Stein,Sarah Juniper Storace Nelson, Melissa Stuart, Rachel Tait, Eloise Tara Unerman, Stephanie Themistocleous, James Turner, Jemima Webster, Mary Webster, Fox White, Jade Wilkinson, Rachel Wilkinson, Maria Woodford, Shaw Worth, Rosie Wright, Alannah Young, Seemin Zaki Mohammed, Joyce Zhou.