Claudia Daventry wins Hippocrates Open Award

It’s been a bumper year for Poetry Society Members in the 2019 Hippocrates Awards for Poetry and Medicine.

Claudia Daventry has won the Open prize for her poem ‘for my Valentine in an fMRI scanner’. Claudia’s work has won several awards and commendations, including Arvon, Philip Larkin and McLellan prizes, and was placed first in the inaugural Ruskin prize and Bridport Prize. Her solo chapbook, which won a Templar award in 2016, is The Oligarch Loses his Patience

Michael Swan was in joint third for ‘Advice to a medical student’. Michael’s first full collection, When They Come For You, was published by Frogmore Press in 2003; his second, The Shapes of Things, was published by Oversteps Books in 2011. Michael won The Poetry Society’s Stanza Competition in 2010.

Nicola Healey was Commended for two poems, with fellow Members Rosie Jackson, Sue Norton, Lesley Saunders, and Steve Xerri joining her on the Commended list.

Denise Bundred was second in the Health Professional Award for ‘Addressing a Fetal Heart’. Denise trained as a paediatrician in Cape Town and as a paediatric cardiologist in Liverpool. She is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians. She won the Hippocrates Prize in Poetry and Medicine (NHS) in 2016.

Commendations were given to Audrey-Ardern Jones, Roger Bloor, Carole Bromley, Denise Bundred (again), Iora Dawes, Ann Gray, Jonathan Richards, Karen Schofield, and Judith Wozniak.

Foyle Young Poets Maia Siegel and Miles McInerney were shortlisted for the Young Poets’ Prize.

Congratulations to everyone! The winning poems and commendations in all the 2019 Hippocrates Awards will be published in the annual Hippocrates Prize Anthology.

The Hippocrates Prize for Poetry and Medicine is in its 10th year. Judges for the 2019 Hippocrates international Open Prize and Health Professional Prize were UK journalist and broadcaster Kate Adie CBE, DL, American-Mexican poet and author Jennifer Clement, International President of PEN International and physician Professor Dame Jane Dacre who is immediate past president of the UK Royal College of Physicians in London and a Professor of Medical Education. New Zealand poet Elizabeth Smither was judge for the 2019 international Hippocrates Young Poet Prize for Poetry and Medicine. Entries were free for young poets (aged 14-18) from anywhere in the world.

Read the full list of winners

9 July 2019