Sarah James and Judith Wozniak top Hippocrates Prizes

L to R Sarah James, Judith Wozniak

The winners have been announced for the 2020 FPM-Hippocrates Prize for Poetry and Medicine: and they are both Poetry Society Members. Sarah James (Leavesley) is the winner of the Open Prize and Judith Wozniak has won the Health Professional Prize. This year’s judges were Roland Jackson and Lawrence Sail.

With an awards fund of £5500, the Hippocrates Prize for Poetry and Medicine is one of the highest value poetry awards in the world for a single unpublished poem. The 2020 Hippocrates Prize is supported by medical charity the Fellowship of Postgraduate Medicine and healthy heart charity the Cardiovascular Research Trust.

The £1000 First Prize in the FPM-Hippocrates Open Awards went to poet, fiction writer, journalist and photographer Sarah James from Droitwich in Worcestershire for ‘People Scare Me Because’.

The £500 Second Prize in the Open Awards was shared by Poetry Society Member Clare Best from Woodbridge, Suffolk for ‘After your procedure’ and former instructor Ian Colin from London for Fighting the Minotaur. The £250 Open Third Prize was shared by Poetry Society Member Rosie Jackson from Trudoxhill in Somerset for ‘It’s Time We Found A Different Metaphor’ and fellow Poetry Society Member John Mills from Stone in Staffordshire for ‘A letter from Dr Parkinson’s discovery’.

The £1000 First Prize in the FPM-Hippocrates Health Professional Awards went to retired General Practitioner and Poetry Society Member Judith Wozniak from Fareham in Hampshire for ‘First Do No Harm’.

The £500 Second Prize in the Health Professional Awards Awards was shared by Oona Chantrell from London for ‘The Untouchable’ and medical student Lauren Fields from New York for ‘A Laying On Of Hands In the OR’. The £250 Health Professional Third Prize was shared by Northern Ireland’s Programme Director for the Human Health Project Patrick Toland from Belfast for ‘By Virtue of the Merits of her Son’ and a further award to Judith Wozniak – again! – for ‘Second Opinion’.

2019 Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award winner Sarah Nachimson was shortlisted for the Hippocrates Young Poet Prize.

Commended poets in the Open Prize include Poetry Society Members Robert Gainer, Hilary Hares, Nairn Kennedy, Sue Norton. In the Health Professional Prize, Poetry Society Members Roger Bloor, Carole Bromley (twice), Susan Butler, Karen Schofield, and Penny Shutt.

5 June 2020