In Perpetuity: Foyle Young Poets Record for Poetry Archive

Jay Bernard, former Foyle Young Poet of the Year, and winner of the 2017 Ted Hughes Award. photo: Cheryl Moskowitz for The Poetry Society

Ten brilliant young poets are adding their voices, and their poems, to the Poetry Archive as part of a 20th anniversary celebration of the Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award. This will ensure preservation of their work and place in poetry history. The recording took place on Tuesday October 23rd at The Soundhouse, a state of the art studio in West London. Once the material is edited it will be available on the Archive.

Magnus Dixon. photo: Cheryl Moskowitz for The Poetry Society

The poets are Jay Bernard, Jade Cuttle, Magnus Dixon, Ella Duffy, Flora De Falbe, Holly Hopkins, Richard Osmond, Andrew Wynn Owen, Adham Smart and Phoebe Stuckes, who all began their poetry careers with winning the Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award as teenagers. “Recording can be a nerve-wracking experience,” said poet Cheryl Moskowitz, who was there to help with the smooth running of the day. “I was struck by everyone’s poise and professionalism.”

Adham Smart. photo: Cheryl Moskowitz for The Poetry Society

The Poetry Archive is a not-for-profit organisation that makes and acquires recordings of poets from around the English-speaking world and makes excerpts from them freely available online. The Archive has been described by the British Library as a ‘vital heritage resource’.

Recording producer Richard Carrington founded the Poetry Archive together with former poet laureate, Andrew Motion. Carrington was there to oversee the recordings and commented that he “came away with the firm impression that the future of poetry is in great hands!”.

We’ll make a further announcement when the recordings are up and ready to listen to online at the Poetry Archive ( – watch this space!

October 25, 2018