Kathy Miles wins Wells Festival of Literature Poetry Competition

It’s a clean sweep for Poetry Society Members with Kathy Miles winning the Wells Festival of Literature poetry competition with her poem ‘The Bellwether’ (Kathy was the winner of the PENfrom Open Poetry Competition in 2016, and the Bridport prize in 2015), Judy O’Kane second with ‘Waterlog’ (winner of National Memory Day Best Poem Prize earlier this year), and Pat Borthwick third with ‘Waiting to hear the Nightingale’ (Pat was winner of Poetry on the Lake International / Open Category last year). The judge was Gillian Clarke, National Poet of Wales from 2008-2016 and the prizes were announced at a special ceremony in the Bishop’s Palace during the Festival.

Prize money was £750 for the 1st prize, 2nd: £300 and 3rd: £200. The Wells Festival of Literature was set up in 1992 to promote the love of books and of reading throughout the community.

Read more

7 November 2017