Robin Robertson on Man Booker and Goldsmiths shortlists

The Long Take, Robin Robertson
Robin Robertson’s The Long Take (Picador), already a winner of the Roehampton Poetry Prize this year, is also on the shortlist of the Man Booker Prize and the Goldsmiths Prize.

Described by John Banville as  ‘A beautiful, vigorous and achingly melancholy hymn to the common man that is as unexpected as it is daring’,  The Long Take is like a film noir on the page. A book about a man and a city in shock, it’s an extraordinary evocation of the debris and ongoing destruction of war even in times of peace. 

The Man Booker Prize is open to writers of any nationality writing in English and published in the UK and Ireland. The shortlist was selected by a panel of five judges: the philosopher Kwame Anthony Appiah (Chair); crime writer Val McDermid; cultural critic Leo Robson; feminist writer and critic Jacqueline Rose; and artist and graphic novelist Leanne Shapton. The 2018 winner will be announced on Tuesday 16 October in London’s Guildhall. The shortlist in full:

  • Everything Under by Daisy Johnson
  • The Mars Room by Rachel Kushner
  • The Overstory by Richard Powers
  • Milkman by Anna Burns
  • Washington Black by Esi Edugyan
  • The Long Take by Robin Robertson

The Goldsmiths Prize was launched in 2013 by Goldsmiths University and the New Statesman to reward fiction from the UK and Ireland that ‘breaks the mould and opens up new possibilities for the novel form’. This year’s winner will be awarded the annual prize of £10,000 on 14 November. The judges are Deborah Levy, Nicholas Lezard, Adam Mars-Jones (Chair), and Elif Shafak. The shortlist in full:

  • Kudos (Rachel Cusk, Faber)
  • Murmur (Will Eaves, CB Editions)
  • In Our Mad and Furious City (Guy Gunaratne, Tinder Press)
  • The Cemetery in Barnes (Gabriel Josipovici, Carcanet Press)
  • Crudo (Olivia Laing, Picador)
  • The Long Take (Robin Robertson, Picador)

27 September 2018