Mark Russell wins Magma Poetry Competition

Magma Poetry have announced the winners and commended poets for its 2019/20 Poetry Competition for both the Judge’s Prize (judged by Caroline Bird) and the Editors’ Prize.

All three prizes in the Judge’s Prize (poems of 11 to 50 lines) go to Poetry Society Members. Mark Russell is the winner for ‘Hospitality’, Victoria Richards is second for ‘The mothers scream into the void’ and Rachael Matthews third for ‘Ventriloquism’. Among the Commended poets are Society Members Nicola Daly and Liam Bates.

In the Editors’ Prize Society (poems of up to 10 lines) Members Paul Nemser and Lydia Harris were second and third for ‘Morning After’ and ‘Muldro’. The prize was won by James Pollock. Among the Commended poets are Society Members Maria Isakova-Bennett, Ian Chamberlain and Kathy Pimlott.

The three winning poems in each competition will be published in Magma 77, Act Your Age, and the Commended poems on the Magma website when the issue launches. First prize for the Judge’s and Editors’ Prize is £1000, second prize £300 and third prize £150. 

The Prize Giving event will be held at the Poetry Café, 22 Betterton Street, London WC2H 9BX on 18 March. The event is free.

Read more

10 March 2020