Michael Grieve on shortlist for £20,000 Edwin Morgan Poetry Award

Michael Grieve

Poetry Society Member Michael Grieve is on a shortlist of seven for the biennial £20,000 Edwin Morgan Poetry Award, given by the Edwin Morgan Trust and judged by Kathleen Jamie and John Glenday.

Michael lives in Fife where he works as a bookseller. He is a graduate of the Universities of St Andrews and Cambridge, and his work has appeared in The Scores, Magma, and Perverse. His pamphlet Luck is published by HappenStance.

The shortlist in full is Colin Bramwell, Michael Grieve, David Linklater, Paul Malgrati, Alycia Pirmohamed, Kirsten Reid and Stewart Sanderson.

Morgan, who died at the age of 90 in 2010, specified that the award was to be funded through his estate and should be given to a Scottish poet under the age of thirty.

The Scottish Poetry Library said: “Never forgetting his difficulties in his early years as a poet, he wanted to lend a helping hand to promising poets at what can be a discouraging period in their career.”

Jamie and Glenday said: “Not only is it Morgan’s centenary year (we would have loved to read the poem he would have written for that, as he did for his eightieth!) but it is also a year of unprecedented global challenge.

“So, it is doubly relevant that we remember Morgan’s bequest was designed to encourage young talent to blossom. The difficulties of today mean we will need the poets of tomorrow as never before.”

The winner will be announced at a special online event at the Edinburgh International Book Festival.

Read more

15 July 2020