Ocean Vuong judges Geoffrey Dearmer Prize

Night Sky with Exit Wounds
Ocean Vuong’s award-winning debut collection.

The Poetry Society is delighted to announce that acclaimed poet Ocean Vuong, the winner of both the 2017 T.S. Eliot Prize and the Forward Prize for Best First Collection with his debut Night Sky With Exit Wounds (Cape), will judge the Geoffrey Dearmer Prize 2017. It will be the first poetry prize he has judged in the UK.

The Geoffrey Dearmer Prize, which is presented annually by The Poetry Society, celebrates 20 years this year. Awarded for the best poem in The Poetry Review by a poet who had not, at the time their work appeared, published a collection, it is named after the poet and former member Geoffrey Dearmer and funded through the generosity of his family. The inaugural winner in 1998 was Paul Farley with ‘Keith Chegwin as Fleance’, chosen by Wendy Cope. More recent winners have included Wayne Holloway-Smith, Kayo Chingonyi, Laura Scott, Kim Moore, Denise Saul, Michael Murphy (twice) and Sarah Wardle.

Ocean’s chosen winner will be announced in the summer 2018 issue of The Poetry Review, published at the end of June.