Paul Farley announced as new judge for the Peggy Poole Award

Paul Farley (photo: Leila Romaya)

The Poetry Society has announced Liverpool-born poet Paul Farley as the judge and mentor of the Peggy Poole Award 2021. The Peggy Poole Award 2021 will be the fifth year of the Award which supports new writers in the North West of England who come through the National Poetry Competition.

Paul Farley said: “Having been lucky enough to receive the generous support and encouragement of poets when I was just getting going, it’s a pleasure and a privilege to get this chance to work with emerging writers here in the North West—whatever guidance and solidarity I can offer has got something to do with those poets, and this place. As for what I’m looking for—I can only say I’ll know it when I see it. To borrow something I saw on a T-shirt once, I’ll probably be reasonable and demand the impossible!”

The Peggy Poole Award, which runs alongside the Poetry Society’s National Poetry Competition, was founded in memory of the poet and broadcaster Peggy Poole. It helps emerging poets in North West England to develop their craft, by offering them the chance to win a year of mentoring from a leading poet. The award is made possible thanks to the generosity of the Poole family and many friends. 

The previous winners of the Award are Yvonne Reddick (2017), mentored by Deryn Rees-Jones; Mark Pajak (2018), mentored by Michael Symmons Roberts; Saiqa Khushnood (2019), mentored by Malika Booker. Last year’s winner Maria Isakova-Bennett is currently being mentored by poet Vona Groarke.

Any poet who is based in the North West of England who enters the National Poetry Competition is eligible for the Peggy Poole Award. This year’s National Poetry Competition, judged by Fiona Benson, David Constantine, and Rachel Long, is open for entries until midnight 31 October 2021

Enter the National Poetry Competition

Find out more about the Peggy Poole Award

11 June 2021