Poetry Archive launch Foyle Young Poets collection

Poetry Archive  has launched a very special collection of poems from winners of the Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award.

Run by The Poetry Society and generously supported by The Foyle Foundation, the Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award has been discovering, celebrating and supporting the very best young poets from around the world since 1998. Over the last 21 years the Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award has become firmly established as the leading competition for young poets aged between 11 and 17 years old. 

Many of the biggest stars in contemporary poetry were recognised by the Foyle Award as teenagers – including Jay Bernard, Helen Mort and Caroline Bird.

The collection can be heard for free on The Children’s Poetry Archive website – childrens.poetryarchive.org – read aloud by the poets.  There are 10 poetry recordings to enjoy from former Foyle winners, each of whom have gone on from Foyle to pursue their passion for writing, including Ted Hughes prize winner Jay Bernard, Eric Gregory Award winners Holly Hopkins and Andrew Wynn Owen, BBC Proms Poetry winner Jade Cuttle, and four-time Foyle winner Phoebe Stuckes.

The Foyle poems are accompanied by an exciting range of free educational resources on the website based around listening, learning, writing and performing poetry. There are also top tips for teachers and school librarians on how to bring more poetry into schools.

“We are very grateful to Poetry Archive for creating this wonderful opportunity for teachers and students to be able to discover and enjoy the voices of today’s most exciting young poets. The archive is without doubt a significant contributor to our children’s education, but it is also critically important as a way of discovering and supporting the development of our next generation of poets,” said Judith Palmer, Director, The Poetry Society.

The Foyle recordings in The Children’s Poetry Archive are part of more than 300 poems available to listen to on the newly launched Poetry Archive website.

The full list of former Foyle winners featured in The Children’s Poetry Archive are:
Jay Bernard, Jade Cuttle, Magnus Dixon, Ella Duffy, Flora De Falbe, Holly Hopkins, Richard Osmond, Andrew Wynn Owen, Adham Smart and Phoebe Stuckes.

The Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award 2020 will open for entries on 5th March 2020. Entries are free and welcome from individuals or via schools. Schools and community groups can order a free pack of anthologies and resources by emailing [email protected] The competition entry form, rules and all resources can be found at foyleyoungpoets.org

Listen to the Foyle Young Poets on The Childrens Poetry Archive

16th December 2019