Poetry Society Members on Primers shortlist & longlist

Primers shortlist

The Poetry School and Nine Arches Press have announced the shortlist and longlist for Primers Volume Four, their mentoring and publication scheme. Judges Kim Moore and Jane Commane have selected ten manuscripts for the shortlist and 17 for the longlist – including many, many Poetry Society Members, highlighted below.

Charlotte Baldwin for With my lips pressed to the ear of the earth
Valerie Bence for On the soar
Rachel Burns for Catholic Girl Ghazal
Lewis Buxton for The Weight of Water
Sally Davis for Padre
Olga Dermott-Bond for lessons in glass
Amelia Loulli for Mother, Mother
Nina Powles for Kōwhai Bloom
Victoria Richards for To be fifteen
Anna Selby for As Fire Is


Ama Bolton for Crossings
Rachel Bower for Pictures
Fiona Cartwright for Mrs Darwin’s Egg
Claire Cox for The Shriek Collector
Janet Dean for To Take His Mind
Sarah Doyle for an untitled manuscript
Sophie Dumont for Typographer in the Basement
Marion Oxley for In The Taxidermist’s House
Gita Ralleigh for Transmission
Natalie Rees for Mostly I Sat Floating
Sallyanne Rock for Happiness is not the same as relief
Carlton Rose for A Silence That Teems Inside
Judith Shaw for Deaths and other relationships
Natalie Shaw for Be careful
Emily Vanderploeg for Loose Jewels
Jennifer Wong for just an immigrant
Spencer Wood for The Wrong Places

Poems by all the shortlisted writers will be published over the next two weeks and the winners will be announced soon.

Read more

25 September 2019