Janet Lees third in Bristol Poetry Prize, won by Rachael Boast

Rachael Boast
Rachael Boast

2011 Forward Prize First Collection winner Rachael Boast has won the Bristol Poetry Prize judged by W N Herbert. Malcolm Watson was second and Poetry Society Member Janet Lees was third. Congratulations to all three.

Among the Commended poets were Poetry Society Members Mark Fiddes (who was second in the Bridport Prize last year, and won the Dromineer Literature Festival prize) and Tessa Foley.

1st Prize (£600) Belle Époche – Rachael Boast
2nd Prize (£300) The Lictors, 1964 – Malcolm Watson
3rd Prize (£100) Mapping Hi-Zex Island – Janet Lees
Rachael will also be reading at Bristol Poetry Festival 2016 in the autumn.

The full results, including the winning poems and a list of commended poems will be posted on the Poetry Can website by the end of Monday 4 April.

Read more

1 April 2016