Joanne Key among the winners of Candlestick’s Snow Poem Competition

Joanne Key
Joanne Key

Candlestick Press have announced the winners of their ‘Snow Poem’ poetry competition, judged by Carole Bromley. In the end they chose three (rather than the planned two) winners and we’re delighted that Poetry Society Member Joanne Key was picked among the three for her poem ‘for the love of snow’. Carole also chose ‘Snow Day’ by Lucy Jeynes and ‘The Symmetry of Snow’ by Meda Stamper.

Joanne was a winner of the winter 2018 Poetry News Members’ Poems competition and was placed second in the 2014 National Poetry Competition.

Poetry Society Members Kerry Darbishire, Gill McEvoy and Jill Munro are Highly Commended and fellow Members Pat Childerhouse, Hilary Robinson, Nicola Warwick and Hannah Stone.

Carole said “I would have been happy with any (or, indeed, all) of the poems on the shortlist!”

The three winners receive a cash prize as well as publication, and the Highly commended poets a selection of six Candlestick titles of their choosing. All the winning poems will be published in Candlestick’s forthcoming Christmas title Ten Poems about Snow which Carole is editing.


‘Snow Day’ by Lucy Jeynes
‘for the love of snow’ by Joanne Key
‘The Symmetry of Snow’ by Meda Stamper

Highly commended poets

Kerry Darbishire
Gill McEvoy
Jill Munro

Shortlisted poets

Jeanette Burton
Pat Childerhouse
John Foggin
Rhiannon Hooson
Claire Lynn
Hilary Robinson
Tom Sastry
Hannah Stone
Polly Walshe
Nicola Warwick
Sarah Ziman

Read more

25 June 2019