Raymond Antrobus and Phoebe Power win Somerset Maugham Award

Somerset Maugham Award winners 2019

The Somerset Maugham Awards are for published works of fiction, non-fiction or poetry by writers under 35, to enable them to enrich their work by gaining experience of foreign countries. Past winners include Hari Kunzru, Helen Oyeyemi, Julian Barnes, Zadie Smith and Jonathan Freedland. Each writer is awarded £4,000.

We are delighted that Poetry Society Member Phoebe Power is among the four recipients of this year’s award, alongside Ted Hughes Award winner Raymond Antrobus.

The full list:

Raymond Antrobus for The Perseverance (Penned in the Margins)
Damian Le Bas for The Stopping Places (Chatto and Windus)
Phoebe Power for Shrines of Upper Austria (Carcanet)
Nell Stevens for Mrs Gaskell and me (Picador)

The Society of Authors’ Awards is a unique evening of celebration with each award chosen by authors for authors and judged by celebrated authors, writers and poets; many former winners themselves. Supporting and empowering writers of fiction, non-fiction and poetry and giving them time and resources to enable creativity is a key part of the Society of Authors’ ethos and each award is uniquely gifted by patrons – often writers giving back to an industry they love. 

Read more

18 June 2019