Penelope Shuttle announced as Stanza Competition judge

The 2018 Stanza Poetry Competition is open and our theme this year is TRADITION. It’s free to enter but you must be a Poetry Society member (if you’re not a member join here) who is also a member of a Poetry Society Stanza – but you can join anytime before the competition closes. Send up to two poems, max 40 lines per poem (not including title). Closing date is Monday 10 September 2018 and the winners will be announced on National Poetry Day, Thursday 4 October 2018. Please look at the rules before you enter.

We’re delighted to announce that our judge this year is Penelope Shuttle.

Penelope Shuttle
Penelope Shuttle

Penelope Shuttle lives in Cornwall. She has published twelve full collections of poems, her most recent being Will You Walk A Little Faster? (Bloodaxe Books, May 2017); this collection was an Observer Poetry Book of the Month. She is Committee Member of the Cornwall Contemporary Poetry Festival Committee, and a Board Member of the Trustees of the Charles Causley Society. Her next publication is Lzrd, (in collaboration with Alyson Hallett), from Indigo Dreams, October 2018.

History of the competition

The annual Stanza Competition began in 2007 and is open exclusively to Stanza members who are also Poetry Society members. Free entry. Prizes: The winning poet is given the choice of a free Poetry Prescription or a year’s Poetry Society membership – or the equivalent. There are two joint runners-up and ten commended poets. The theme for the competition is the antithesis or balance to that year’s National Poetry Day theme.

Previous winners

2017: Konstandinos Mahoney (Barnes & Chiswick), judged by Andy Croft
2016: Pat Winslow (Oxford 2 Stanza), judged by Ros Barber
2015: Graham Burchell (Exeter Stanza), judged by Jo Bell
2014: Robin Houghton (Brighton Stanza), judged by Les Robinson
2013: Jan Bay-Petersen (Cambridge Stanza), judged by Neil Rollinson
2012: Angela Stoner (Penzance Stanza), judged by John Siddique
2011: Julia Webb (Norwich Stanza), judged by Carrie Etter
2010: Michael Swan (Oxford Stanza),  judged by Sheenagh Pugh
2009: Julie Lumsden (Nottingham Stanza),  judged by Philip Gross
2008: Rich Goodson (Nottingham Stanza),  judged by Eleanor Cooke
2007: Emma Danes (Cambridge Stanza),  judged by Roddy Lumsden

Read more

10 May 2018