Ted Hughes Award 2017 shortlist is announced

L-R, top row: Jay Bernard, Caroline Bird, Kayo Chingonyi, Inua Ellams. L-R, bottom row: Matthew Francis, Antony Owen, Greta Stoddart.

The shortlist for the 2017 Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry has been announced! Judges Gillian Allnutt, Sally Beamish and Lemn Sissay chose their shortlist of seven poets who released groundbreaking works in 2017, out of over a hundred recommendations from members of The Poetry Society and Poetry Book Society:

Jay Bernard for Surge: Side A (Speaking Volumes)
Caroline Bird for In These Days of Prohibition (Carcanet)
Kayo Chingonyi for Kumukanda (Chatto)
Inua Ellams for #afterhours (Nine Arches Press)
Matthew Francis for The Mabinogi (Faber & Faber)
Antony Owen for The Nagasaki Elder (V Press)
Greta Stoddart for Who’s There? (BBC Radio)

Congratulations to all the shortlisted poets!

For more on the shortlisted works, what the judges had to say about them, and to read excerpted poems from each work, visit our 2017 Ted Hughes Award page. 

The Ted Hughes Award seeks to recognise excellence in poetry, highlighting outstanding contributions made by poets to our cultural life. The £5,000 prize is donated by Carol Ann Duffy, funded from the annual honorarium the Poet Laureate traditionally receives from HM The Queen.

The winner will be announced at the Ted Hughes Award & National Poetry Competition awards ceremony held this year on 28 March 2018.

13 March 2018