Theophilus Kwek wins The Interpreter’s House Prize

Theophilus Kwek
Theophilus Kwek

It was almost a clean sweep for Poetry Society Members this year as Theophilus Kwek won with his poem ‘Operation Thunderstorm’, followed by Karen Izod in 2nd place (‘Slip-Stream’) and Commendations for Claire Dyer, Eleanor Hooker, Fiona Larkin, and Sarah Watkinson. The only non-Member was Cheryl Pearson, third for ‘Protection Spell for a Lover’. 

Theophilus Kwek was a commended Foyle Young Poet in 2010 and has published four volumes of poetry: most recently The First Five Storms, which won the New Poets’ Prize in 2016. He served as President of the Oxford University Poetry Society, and is currently Editor of Oxford Poetry and Chief Executive Assistant at Asymptote, an international journal of translation.

The judge was 2014 Geoffrey Dearmer Prize Winner Zaffar Kunial. All the winning entries will be published in Issue 68 of The Interpreter’s House.

Read more

6 April 2018