Valzhyna Mort shortlisted for Best Single Poem in the 2020 Forward Prizes for Poetry

Valzhyna Mort reading at the Fokus Lyrik poetry festival, Frankfurt, in 2019.

Congratulations to Valzhyna Mort who has been shortlisted in the Forward Prizes’ Best Single Poem Category for her poem ‘Nocturne for a Moving Train’, first published in The Poetry Review’s Autumn 2019 issue.

The poem, which draws the personal, the political and the pastoral into the focus of a single cross-continental train journey, can be read online.

Joining Mort across the three categories are: Will Harris, who guest-edited The Poetry Review’s spring 2020 issue – several poems from his shortlisted debut collection Rendang, first appeared in The Poetry Review; former Foyle Young Poets and Review contributors Caroline Bird and Martha Sprackland; Ella Frears, who was commended in the 2018 National Poetry Competition; and David Morley, winner of the 2016 Ted Hughes Award for The Invisible Gift, a book celebrated for its exploration of Romani culture, which is a continuing theme in his Forward shortlisted collection Fury. Poems from Rachel Long’s shortlisted My Darling from the Lions are published for the first time in the Summer 2020 issue of the Review.

We wish the best of luck to all the shortlisted poets including including Poetry Society Members Caroline Bird, Vicki Feaver, David Morley, Pascale Petit, Ella Frears and Malika Booker. We look forward to discovering the winners across each category later in 2020.

The 2020 Forward Prize for Best Collection (£10,000)
Caroline Bird – The Air Year (Carcanet)
Natalie Diaz – Postcolonial Love Poem (Faber & Faber)
Vicki Feaver – I Want! I Want! (Cape Poetry)
David Morley – FURY (Carcanet)
Pascale Petit – Tiger Girl (Bloodaxe Books)

The 2020 Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection (£5,000)
Ella Frears – Shine, Darling (Offord Road Books)
Will Harris – RENDANG (Granta Poetry)
Rachel Long – My Darling from the Lions (Picador)
Nina Minya Powles – Magnolia 木蘭 (Nine Arches Press)
Martha Sprackland – Citadel (Pavilion Poetry)

The 2020 Forward Prize for Best Single Poem (£1,000)
Fiona Benson – ‘Mama Cockroach, I Love You’ (Poetry London)
Malika Booker – ‘The Little Miracles’ (Magma)
Regi Claire – ‘(Un)certainties’ (Mslexia & PBS Women’s Poetry Competition)
Valzhyna Mort – ‘Nocturne for a Moving Train’ (The Poetry Review)
Sarah Tsiang – ‘Dick pics’ (The Moth)

10 June 2020