John Foggin wins the Yaffle Prize

John Foggin is the winner of the inaugural Yaffle Prize with Poetry Society Member Paul Waring in second place for his poem ‘Melt’.

Fellow Members Becky Cherriman and Natalie Scott are both Highly Commended and Barbara Hickson is among the Commended poets.

Yaffle is a brand new independent publisher of poetry that aims to produce pamphlets and poetry collections of a high standard, introduce new voices and release work by established poets. 

Winners list:

First Prize: What Ghosts Weigh – John Foggin
Second Prize: Melt – Paul Waring
Third Prize: First Grit 24/2 – B. Anne Adriaens

Highly Commended:
Army Brat, British Occupation – Becky Cherriman
‘Katie Gliddon’ – Natalie Scott

‘Creation Myth: Starlings’ – Ian Harker
‘Hefted’ – Barbara Hickson
‘Dear Cynthia’ – Claire Crabtree
‘How Death Begins’ – Matt Nicholson
Congratulations to all the prizewinners!

The prize received nearly 400 poems and all poems on the following long-list will feature in the debut anthology Whirlagust.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ Claire Potter

A butterfly senses her enemy – Sallyanne Rock

A truck full of turnips – Joe Williams

And I have been thinking – Carole Bromley

Army Brat, British Occupation – Becky Cherriman

Arthur Griffiths – Natalie Scott

Beeches 48/2 – B.Anne Adriaens

Blue tits and the city – Georgina Titmus

Biological interface error – Ruth Kelsey

Boxing Day – David J Costello

Braking/Breaking Point – Oz Harwick

City in decline – Neil Clarkson


Daddy – Winston Plowes

Daddy Daedalus – Pamela Scobie

Dear Cynthia – Claire Crabtree

Désir – Eithne Lannon

Fabrication. A story of creation – Howard Benn

First Grit 24/2 – B.Anne Adriaens

First Grit 64/2 – B.Anne Adriaens

Five More Minutes – Barbara Hickson

For the love of yellow – Kate O’Neil

Gingerbread – Andy Humphrey

Grace Marcon – Natalie Scott

Granny Smith remembers – Kate O’Neil

Ground Elder – Andy Humphrey

He touched me here – Kayleigh Campbell

Hefted – Barbara Hickson

Holloway Bomber – Natalie Scott

How death begins – Matt Nicholson

Imperfect Autopsy – Denni Turp

In my thinking of you – Abbie Neale

Inverdalavil – John Foggin


Katie Gliddon – Natalie Scott

Le Jeu Du Destin Antique – Oz Hardwick

Masks for Emily – Kathleen Strafford

Melt – Paul Waring

Metamorphoses – Ben Ray

My Day in the Life of a Field Hare – Sarah Wallis

Neighbourhood After Sarah Green’s Assembly – Becky Cherriman

On the Early Bus – David J Costello

Poem for Huers – Christopher Lanyon

Ready or Not – Claire Proctor


River – Helen Sellers

Rock and Roll 1963 – Kathleen Strafford

Roger – Carole Bromley

Sapped – John Foggin

Six Connecticut Seascapes – Adrian Salmon

Society – Joe Williams

Song thrush into a redwing – Dominic Weston

The Badger – Mark Totterdell

The Heron – Becky Cherriman

The Trouble with Toy-boys – Carole Bromley

The year of the dog – Elly White

Three Birds – Oz Hardwick

Tidy sum – Sandra Burnett

Time – Mark Totterdill

What ghosts weigh – John Foggin

Read more

5 April 2019