Sarah Howe

Sarah Howe was born in Hong Kong in 1983. She won an Eric Gregory Award from the Society of Authors in 2010. Her first collection, Loop of Jade, is published by Chatto & Windus, and was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best First Collection, and the TS Eliot Prize 2015. She is the founding editor of Prac Crit, a journal of poetry and criticism. Her poems have appeared widely in British magazines including The Poetry Review, PN Review and Poetry London, in anthologies such as The Salt Book of Younger Poets and Dear World & Everyone In It, and on BBC Radio 3 and 4. She has performed her work at events across the country, from Ledbury Poetry Festival to the Royal Festival Hall. In 2015-16, she will be based at the Radcliffe Institute, Harvard.

Sarah was a Poetry Society Young Poet of the Year in 2000 (Simon Elvin/Foyle Young Poets), and is a judge of The Poetry Society’s National Poetry Competition in 2015. She was awarded the T S Eliot Prize in 2015 for Loop of Jade, the first time a debut collection has won the prize.