Poetry News – Spring 2021

The spring edition of Poetry News presents some of the most exciting voices in poetry with wide-ranging interviews and features. As part of our National Poetry Competition 2020 coverage, we talk to first prize winner Marvin Thompson about his ‘jump-cut’ approach to writing poetry and the themes of history, family, racism and hope that run through his work. Nick Makoha interviews the acclaimed US poet Terrance Hayes, who on 28 April 2021 will give the second lecture in The Poetry Society Annual Lecture series, presented in partnership with University of Liverpool’s Centre for New and International Writing. We interview Becky Swain about the newly founded Manchester Poetry Library, which despite all the restrictions imposed by the coronavirus pandemic, has been opening up its collection and connecting with readers and poetry practitioners with online events and commissions. We also talk to Aaron Kent, founder of the innovative and edgy Broken Sleep Books, winner of the Michael Marks Publisher Award 2020.

Elsewhere, poet Rushika Wick tells us about her on her working life as a community paediatrician in our occasional ‘Day Job’ feature; Adam Horovitz glories in ‘The Shepherd’s Calendar’ by John Clare; and Jacqueline Saphra opens up on her sonnet habit.

We celebrate the launch of this year’s Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award; ten years of the hugely successful Young Poets Network; and Rachel Long’s pick of members’ poems on the loosely Keatsian theme of ‘Waking dream’. We report on John Keats-related activities throughout the issue following the launch of the Keats200 programme, which marks the two-hundredth anniversary of the poet’s death.

As ever, Poetry News includes news from our enterprising worldwide Stanza network and, in our Young Poetry News section, the latest on the inspiring and creative ways young writers have responded to these challenging times.

Poetry News connects members to the wider world of poetry. To receive a copy through your letterbox every quarter, simply join The Poetry Society.